The RoHS Directive (Restriction of the use of certain Hazardous Substances in electrical and electronic equipment), which includes “Restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment”, is derived from European legislation. This Directive, as its name implies, aims to restrict the use of certain hazardous substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment (EEE).

On November 15, 2017, the European Commission published Directive (EU) 2017/2102 more commonly known as “RoHS 2” amending Directive 2011/65/EU known as “RoHS 1”.

The substances covered by these directives
The RoHS 1 Directive (Directive 2011/65/EU) already prohibited the use of six substances at 0.1% concentration. These were :

  • Mercury
  • Lead
  • Polybrominated biphenyls (PBBs)
  • Hexavalent Chrome (or Chrome VI)
  • Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDEs)
  • Cadmium (concentration limit 0.01%)

    To this list of already banned substances, RoHS 2 (EU Directive 2017/2102) adds four new substances with a concentration limit of 0.1%. These are :


  • Bis(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP)
  • Butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP)
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)
  • Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP)
RoHS2 compliant